ACM SIGCHI Summer/Winter School

Next-generation location-based technologies: from urban crowdsourcing to the physical web

December 18-22, 2017
Tandil, Buenos Aires, Argentina

About the school

The proliferation of mobile computing has also brought rise to several other types of applications. One of the most salient ones are location-based apps and generally technologies that utilize location as an important input or output of the application. Whether games such as Pokemon Go or ads that are displayed in our devices, the use of location information has become an important aspect of almost every application regardless the device it finds itself in. In this winter school we would like to particularly focus on this aspect and introduce students to the latest advances of location-based technologies.


Monday 18th

  • 09:00 - Registration
  • 09:30 - "The programable city". Presentation of the "City Conqueror" app
  • 12:00 - Lunch
  • 14:00 - "Experiments in the wild"

Tuesday 19th

  • Morning: "Walk the city’s history”. Presentation of “Pilot 4” app
  • Afternoon: Use Pilot 4 app to discover Tandil
  • Night: Welcome dinner

Wednesday 20th

  • Morning: "Analysis of location-based data for user modeling and events detection" Presentation of AsisTAn and Manwe apps
  • Afternoon: "Location-based Crowdsourcing"
  • Late afternoon: Social event (city tour)

Thursday 21st

  • Morning: "An Introduction to Micro-Services Architectures with Applications to Geo-location"
  • Afternoon: Hands-on Lab (micro-services)

Friday 22nd

  • Full day: Datathon/Hackathon with data collected during the school and data provided
Facultad de Cs. Exactas


Thanks to ACM's contribution we are able to sponsor a limited number of students. Five students will be granted an extended scholarship that includes: registration fee, accommodation and partially funded transportation. Another five students will be granted a waiver for the registartion fee.


The deadline for applying for a scholarship dued on 18 de November 2017. However, you can still register to assist to the school with a fee of U$s100. For registering, please fill in the following Registration Form.

Organizing Committee


Dr. Marcelo G. Armentano

Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires


Dr. Ioanna Lykourentzou

Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)


Dr. Vassilis Javed Khan

Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands


Dr. Konstantinos Papangelis

Xi'an-Jiaotong Liverpool University, University of Liverpool

Invited Speakers


Dr. J. Andrés Díaz Pace

Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires


Louis Deladiennee

Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)


The school will take place at the Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires (UNICEN), which is located in Tandil, Argentina (400km South of Buenos Aires)

Getting to Tandil

From Ministro Pistarini Airport (Ezeiza) or Jorge Newbery Airport (Aeroparque) to Retiro bus station
There are two main options:

  • "Tienda Leon" is a shuttle that can be booked at the airport or online at This shuttle takes you to "Terminal Madero", which is 6 minutes walk to Retiro bus terminal. The cost is arround AR$ 220 and shuttles depart every 30-45 minutes all day.
  • Taking a taxi or Remis directly to Retiro bus station is the simplest and safest (you don't have to walk in Buenos Aires), but more expensive way. Tienda Leon also offers remis service at arround AR$910.
  • You can also take a cabify. A single trip from Ezeiza Airport to Retiro Bus Station is arround AR$730.

From Retiro bus station to Tandil bus station
There are comfortable direct buses that you can take:

Tickets can be bought at the bus station or online at Plataforma 10. One way trip is arround AR$ 533.

Given the closeness of the school date with Christmas, we recommend taking the tickets well in advance


Pictures taken during the school

Contact us

If you have any question, please contact us at:

Local Arrangements Committee

  • Dr. Marcelo Armentano
  • Dr. Luis Berdun
  • Dr. Silvia Schiaffino
  • Dr. Alvaro Soria
  • Dr. Antonela Tommasel
  • Eng. Franco Berdun
  • Eng. Diego Alonso
  • Eng. Brian Caimmi
  • Eng. Sebastian Vallejos